Chillin’ Out

After learning to run in heat, I’m now learning to run in cold.

It was 39 degrees this morning when I headed out to my usual place for my run. It was deserted. Just me and the ducks. It was awesome!

Because my knee is so cranky right now I’m doing a 2:1 ratio and working on increasing my time. I am using the Jeff Galloway 5K program on my iPhone and you have two choices. You an either do a first 5K or increase your time. For me since I’m increasing my time I get to do speed drills, which are hard and fun. When I did my speed drills earlier in the week I did 4×400. I have learned I have a lot of stamina, just need to get my knee in gear.

Today was my “long run” of 3.30 miles.

I’ve decided to add Yoga practice to my workout. I’m going to do it via private instruction with a woman my trainer referred me to. I’ll start with her tomorrow. I’m very excited to see what Yoga will bring to my life. So my workout regimen is now:

  • Run 3-4 days a week
  • Strength train 3 days a week
  • Yoga probably 2 days a week
  • Zumba sometimes

It’s taken me a couple of months to figure out what my new game plan is but I am happy with it.

 

 

This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chillin’ Out

  1. John says:

    Good luck with the 5k!

Leave a Reply

