How to come back from an injury, Sandra Style (and a great recipe)

I’ve had to lay off the running due to re injuring my knee. So the last month has been difficult at best. It means that I’m not going to be able to run the 1/2 marathon that I had been training for since April and that hit me hard.

So my initial response to that was to eat a pint of ice cream every day and gain 5 pounds over a one month period. After I finally decided to get with the program I took the following steps.

1. I got a part time job at the YMCA. That does several things. I now have ZERO excuse to not work out. I mean I now have a free membership where I know very cool people and since I’m going to be giving tours and have obtained the title of Wellness Coach you can’t really do that when you are behaving badly with diet and exercise, get my meaning?

2. I laid off the running and started again today. I am shocked to find I am stronger and FASTER than I ever was before. What is THAT? I don’t know but I am thrilled. I am signed up to do the Chocolate Run on November 4th and the Jingle Jam on December 1. They are 5Ks and the first one I am doing with my trainer. Should be fun!

3. Turning in my food logs to my trainer. I cannot tell you how important that piece of accountability is for me. But I’m good with it. 

4. Cooking more. I don’t like to cook for just me, but I am. Randy is right. When I take the time to take care of myself and cook for myself I feel better. And when I feel better I treat myself better. 

 

So my goal now is 25 pounds lost by New Years. Doable? Maybe, maybe not. But that’s my goal and I’m sticking to it. 

Here’s a cool recipe I love.

Image

Lemon protein bars – RECIPE

1 C Oat Flour
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

2 Qt mix Crystal Light Lemonade mix
4 egg whites
1/2 C Truvia
2 8 oz jars baby applesauce
4 oz water
combine flour, salt, baking soda, protein powder and crystal light in one bowl. in another combine truvia, eggs, baby food and water. mix wet into dry. bake at 350 for 35 minutes. 58 cals each
Aside | This entry was posted in 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

