Workin’ It, Workin’ It

If Today Was Your Last Day” by Nickelback

My best friend gave me the best advice
He said each day’s a gift and not a given right
Leave no stone unturned, leave your fears behind
And try to take the path less traveled by
That first step you take is the longest strideIf today was your last day
And tomorrow was too late
Could you say goodbye to yesterday?
Would you live each moment like your last?
Leave old pictures in the past
Donate every dime you have?
If today was your last dayAgainst the grain should be a way of life
What’s worth the prize is always worth the fight
Every second counts ’cause there’s no second try
So live like you’ll never live it twice
Don’t take the free ride in your own life
So..this song is on my iPod in my playlist called “Motivation”. Thought I would share.
Did the C25k Week 1, Day 3 today. I’m getting stronger!!! There were a couple of times that I was full-bore running and oh my gosh I LOVED IT. I will repeat what I said in a previous post. There is NOTHING like running outside. It was perfect today, the lake was busy and I was fast. Last time it took me 33 minutes to get around the 2 mile lake and today I got it done in 20! My knees are hurting less too!
Here are some pics.
                                                    
I also want to share some things that I am doing. I’ve made the decision to not eat carbs  after 3pm. I can have protein and veges and select fruit like cantaloupe but I have not been eating carbs. I don’t miss them either. If you eat carbs and don’t burn them off they go to where you don’t want them and in my case it is my lower half.
The dietitian told us that every week we should have a “free meal”. I’ve decided for now that I am not going to do that.  I have had 14 years of out of control eating so I’m going to get this weight off and then gradually introduce treats into my meal plan. Again, treats are occasional indulgences for me, not normal meals that I am eating.
Starting in about a week I am going to experiment with two a day workouts. My doctor said it’s OK and I’m always in tune with what my body is telling me. But frankly, when I work out in the morning I am ready to go again at night. I have my son every other week and the weeks I don’t have him I really want to work it extra.
I will never forget that being selected to be part of this challenge was a great gift and I don’t want to squander that gift.
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Workin’ It, Workin’ It

  1. Rick says:

    Wow, 33 minutes all the way down to 20. That’s what I’d call progress.

  2. Judie Crowley says:

    You go girl!!!!!! Awesome.

  3. jimcrowley says:

    That’s a heck of an improvement. Maybe it will be me trying to keep up with you at the flower power run!

Leave a Reply

