Week 1 Day 1

This was the best workout of my life. This was the worst workout of my life.

My trainer Lisa is a super nice, very supportive individual. However the word “masochist” came to mind a few times this morning. But frankly, that’s what it is going to take.

It went something like this:

Warmup on the treadmill for 10 minutes…I can do that! I’m happy to be here. Yea! Lisa said she was going to start us slow and work up from there so this should be hard but doable.

Oh, wait! What’s that thing in her hand? A stopwatch? What is she going to do with that?

What she did was time us on 3 minutes of cardio, pushing ourselves to where we should only have been able saying one word responses. I was ok with that too, starting out at a turtle pace jog at 4.0 MPH. It’s a 15.00 pace but like Forest Gump said, ” I was runNING!!

The next three minute interval consisted of getting off the treadmill and using bands to work our biceps. Keep in mind my heart rate was up considerably and you don’t get time to rest. That’s when it dawned on me that we were going full bore interval training. My upper body is weak as hell. But you have to push yourself right? Three minutes of pulling on medium level bands to work your biceps is not fun. Especially when the heaviest thing you have lifted in a while is a glass full of wine! But still…I carried on.

Back to 3 minutes of cardio. Still doing OK with the running.

Off the treadmill to wall push ups. I can do a million of those. Now, there is one teammate that was doing them the normal way, even doing it on a large exercise ball. At least I think she was. I was getting so worn out I just had to focus on myself so she could have been levitating in the air and I wouldn’t have known.

Treadmill 3 minutes. This was getting hard now.

More dumbell exercises. 8lb dumbbells. Seems super heavy to me now. The word “masochist” starts to reverberate in my brain.

Treadmill 3 minutes. I’m dying. It’s horrible. Oh what’s this? I’m still running.

Off Treadmill. Kettlebell work. I about died when I saw she started us on 20 pound kettlebells. Are we having fun yet? Um…nope not yet!

Treadmill – “They find her, years later, stuffed under the treadmill from where she collapsed after running”. Just kidding. I was doing it, Lisa was great, reminding us to push ourselves but break when we needed to.

Interval – Core work (Hey I can lie down now…excellent!)

Treadmill – I think I can, I think I can…

Interval – Medicine ball core work…very doable

Treadmill – I think I CAN’T I think I CAN’T

Interval – core work

FINISH! Oh whoops gotta help Lisa put the equipment away. Hey that’s wasn’t in the brochure! 🙂

So here I am 11 hours later. I am sore but not injured. I am exhausted but…exhausted.

I can honestly say I can’t wait for tomorrow’s workout.

This entry was posted in 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 1 Day 1

  1. Rick says:

    You’re an inspiration already! I’m good at measuring out my food intake each day, not so good at exercise. And I was a 4-sport athlete in high school (like, a million years ago). Now that the weather is nicer, I don’t have any excuses! Keep up the AWESOME work.

  2. You are so nice! I read your posts every day because I have always had trouble with measuring the food!!! And don’t worry, I’ll be grumbling on here too as well tee hee!!!

  3. maggieat40 says:

    Way to go! Those workouts with a trainer are definitely a killer, but also killer of fat! I find it helps to cuss out my trainer under my breath (course I don’t mean it) or just cuss period! My trainer gets upset when I don’t come back and tell him I was sore for two days after. Sadistic, I say!

  4. John says:

    Great job, and keep sticking with it! Remember, the scale isn’t your friend these first few weeks, but soon will be showing great results.

Leave a Reply

